G. Lindsey Davis, Vice Chair


Kentucky Conference

United Methodist Church
Crestwood, Kentucky


Bishop Lindsey DavisG. Lindsey Davis was assigned to the Louisville Area effective September 1, 2008. He was elected to the episcopacy in July 1996 from the Kentucky Conference and was assigned to the North Georgia Area, where he served for 12 years.

Born in Durham, North Carolina, Bishop Davis spent most of his life in Kentucky and holds degrees from Union College, University of Kentucky, Lexington Theological Seminary, and Kentucky Wesleyan College. He was ordained deacon in 1978 and elder in 1981. Bishop Davis served as associate pastor at First United Methodist Church of Lexington, senior pastor at Mayo Memorial United Methodist Church and St. Luke United Methodist Church of Lexington, and superintendent of the Lexington District. He was assistant director, Office of Educational Development at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine; director of educational development, University of Alabama, College of Community Health Sciences; and consultant for the Department of Family Medicine and Pediatrics at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine before entering the ministry. Bishop Davis co-chaired the Uniting Transition Team for the Louisville Area in 1996 and was a delegate to the General Conference and Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference in 1992 and 1996.

Bishop Davis has served on the General Council on Ministries (1996–2000); as director of the General Board of Global Ministries (GBGM); and as president of the United Methodist Committee on Relief (2000–2004). He also served on the General Council of Finance and Administration (GCFA) from 2004 to 2012 and as GCFA president from 2008 to 2012. He was a founding member of Path 1, a denominational new church, and served on its board from 2004 to 2012. Bishop Davis currently serves as the chair of the Audit Committee of the GBGM.

He was elected in 1996 to the Emory University Board of Trustees, which he serves as vice chair, and he is a member of the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center Board of Emory University.